Armenia and Azerbaijan sign peace treaty on Nagorno-Karabakh conflict

Armenia and Azerbaijan sign peace treaty on Nagorno-Karabakh conflict

The Armenian Ministry of Defence announced on Tuesday that its armed forces are ready to abide by the terms of the tripartite agreement signed between Armenia, Russia and Azerbaijan to end the war in Artsakh, also known as Nagorno-Karabakh.

The ministry said in a statement, “The armed forces will fulfill, as of 5 AM on November 10, the terms of the tripartite agreement reached between the Armenian Prime Minister and the leaders of Russia and Azerbaijan on ending the war in Karabakh.”

Armenian Prime Minister Nikol Pashinyan announced the signing of an agreement with Russian President Vladimir Putin and Azerbaijani President Ilham Aliyev, stipulating an end to the war in Karabakh as of November 10, and sending a Russian peace-keeping force to the region.

On Monday evening, Russian President Vladimir Putin announced that the Azerbaijani and Armenian forces would stop at their current positions after signing an agreement to end the war between Armenia and Azerbaijan, and agree to the deployment of Russian and Turkish forces in Nagorno Karabakh.

On September 27, armed clashes broke out on the line of contact between Azerbaijani and Armenian forces in the disputed Karabakh region and adjacent areas, in the most dangerous escalation between the two parties in nearly three decades, amid mutual accusations of starting the fighting and bringing in foreign militants.

The peace treaty, widely seen as a humiliating defeat for Armenia and the majority Armenian population of Artsakh, was met with popular fury in the Armenian capital of Yerevan, with angry protesters reportedly bursting into the Armenian parliament building.